Marijuana Is Legal In Limited Circumstances

Recreational marijuana is now legal in California, but it will still be strictly regulated. People age 21 and over can now legally buy up to one ounce of marijuana and possess up to six plants in their home.

You may, however, still face criminal charges and harsh drug crime sentences, such as prison time and potentially hefty fines, for some marijuana offenses. You need an attorney who knows the new and changing laws around marijuana to defend you. With an experienced Ventura drug crime attorney from Ridley Defense, you can have wise and unyielding representation from a former prosecutor. Call us 24/7 at 805.208.1866 for a complimentary consultation with a criminal defense attorney. We serve clients in Ventura County, Santa Barbara County, L.A. County, and Southern California.

Possession

Under California Health and Safety Code 11357, if you are convicted of possessing more than 28.5 grams — that is only one ounce — of marijuana, you could face a fine up to $500 and/or up to six months in jail. If this occurs when you are between 18 and 21 years old, you can be charged with an infraction. People under age 18 may have to complete community service and substance abuse counseling. When any person possesses with the intent to distribute, then it is a felony — a very serious charge that could result in 16 months to three years in prison.

Sales

The actual sale or delivery of any amount of more than one ounce of marijuana can be a felony, punishable by two to four years in prison. An adult who sells to someone between the ages of 14 and 17 faces three to seven years of imprisonment.

Cultivation

For people without a license to grow marijuana, cultivating more than six plants of marijuana may be a felony, entailing a 16-month to three-year sentence in prison. The unauthorized manufacture of hash (hashish, called "concentrated cannabis") is also punishable by 16 months to three years of jail, and is additionally subject to a fine of up to $500. The chemical manufacture of hash and concentrates brings a very serious charge that could land someone three to seven years in prison, plus up to $50,000 in fines.

You Do Not Want A Conviction On Your Record

Sentences may also involve driver's license suspension and treatment. These charges can lead to probation though, instead of jail or prison time. Either way, a conviction of a marijuana charge can stain your record, or even brand you as a convicted felon. This is not something you want to appear at your every move, whether you are seeking a better job or a good place to live. When faced with marijuana charges in California, you need to act quickly to retain a smart, tough drug crime lawyer who can clear your name.

Call 805.208.1866 To Protect Your Rights

Drug crime attorney, Douglas H. Ridley, has handled thousands of cases. With this experience, his peer recognition, and his professionalism, he has earned an Avvo rating of Excellent. As a former prosecutor, attorney Ridley fully understands the nature of your charges and how to successfully mount a fierce defense against all of your marijuana charges. Please call us or use our intake form to arrange your consultation.