Learn More About DUI Defense

If you are facing charges of driving while intoxicated and need a skilled attorney to counsel you, answer your questions, and fight your charges in court, contact Ridley Defense. We have handled thousands of criminal cases, including numerous DUI charges involving alcohol and drugs. Our firm serves clients in Ventura County, Santa Barbara County, L.A. County, and Southern California.

California Vehicle Code § 23152 defines DUI as operating a vehicle while under the effects of drugs or alcohol, and/or with a blood alcohol content of .08 percent or higher. To fight these charges, get started on your defense today by viewing the FAQs below before calling our offices at 805.208.1866 for a complimentary case evaluation. Attorney Douglas H. Ridley is a former deputy district attorney who knows both sides of DUI cases. Once we review your situation, we can determine how to build your defense and fight the charges. We are available 24/7.

When Can An Officer Pull Someone Over For DUI?

Law enforcement offices can pull you over for showing any common signs of intoxication OR ANY VEHICLE CODE VIOLATION THAT YOU COULD GET A TICKET FOR. An officer can legally pull you over for any small infraction, including tinted windows, expired tags, or cellphone usage. Anything that warrants a ticket is good cause for a stop.

When Can An Officer Make A DUI Arrest?

In general, there are two ways an officer can make a legal DUI arrest. The first is if the suspect fails any of the field sobriety tests. Such failure is considered adequate grounds to arrest a person for intoxicated driving. The second reason an officer may arrest someone for DUI is if they fail a breath or blood test. The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit to drive in California is .08 percent. Anyone with that percentage or higher in their system will be arrested for DUI.

What Is Blood Alcohol Concentration?

Blood alcohol concentration — also known as blood alcohol content or BAC — is the alcohol-to-blood ratio in your bloodstream. When you consume alcohol, much of it moves straight into your bloodstream and goes through several cycles before it is all eliminated by your liver. Breath and blood tests can be used to detect the percentage of alcohol in your blood by volume. The legal limit is .08 percent in California.

What Is A Field Sobriety Test?

After an officer pulls you over, they may have you perform several tests to assess your motor functions, attention span, and concentration. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has standardized three tests: the Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus test, the Walk-and-Turn, and the One-Leg Stand. Failing any of these could warrant an arrest; however, there are factors that could invalidate your results and allow you to obtain a dismissal.

How Do I Fight DUI Charges In Ventura?

There are numerous ways to fight DUI charges in Southern California. If you were arrested because you failed a field sobriety test, you may be able to prove that you were affected by medication, fatigue, or intimidation — not alcohol. It may also be the case that the arresting officer did not administer the tests correctly, invalidating their results. Breathalyzers are very delicate, and your officer may not have used the device properly.

When Should I Hire A DUI Lawyer?

Right away. The longer you wait, the less time can be dedicated to building your defense and fighting your charges.

Will I Lose My Driver's License?

YES. If you do nothing, your license will be suspended 30 days after your arrest. However, if you contact us within 10 days of your arrest, we will contact the DMV and put a freeze on their ability to do anything to your license until you have had your right to due process and an administrative hearing.

Will I Need An Ignition Interlock Device (IID)?

It depends on the circumstances of your case. For a first offense in Los Angeles County, you will be ordered to get an IID. In other counties, you may have to install an IID if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .15 percent or higher for a first offense. For subsequent DUI offenses, the court typically orders people to install IIDs.

Do I Need A DUI Defense Attorney? Yes!

Although you are innocent until proven guilty, the court will trust law officials more than you, and those officials will likely lean toward a guilty sentence from the beginning. A skilled lawyer with the training and experience to present a strong defense may prove that you were wrongfully charged with drunk driving. Ridley Defense has the experience, so call our offices at 805.208.1866, or contact us online to schedule a complimentary consultation.