Siri-ous Consequences


It has been a great year for Ridley Defense! We have gotten several DUI's dismissed, had jail times reduced for those in serious trouble, gotten juveniles back on track under the guidance of their parents rather than a jail warden, and prevented many, many crimes from being committed with presentations to High Schools, Service Clubs, and more. We would like to express gratitude to our clients, the communities we serve, and all of you that have felt us worthy of your referrals. We truly wish you a Happy New Year and are committed to working even harder in 2014 for you and your families.The first thing that we would like to do is share the most important and interesting laws that you should take notice of in the coming year. Take a moment to share the first one with all of the young drivers in your life:

  • No voice command texting for under 18 drivers: Sorry Siri; it is now illegal for underage drivers to text in any way, shape, or form while driving. This includes all hands-free options, like voice command.
  • Search Warrants for DUI suspects: This law actually took effect in September, but bears mentioning. If you are pulled over and are suspected of driving under the influence, and refuse to take a blood test, the officers can request a warrant to attain blood in a "reasonable, medically approved manner." This can mean a double whammy as far as consequences. You will have your license suspended for a year for refusal to submit to the test, and STILL may be forced to provide the police the evidence that the courts will need to convict you of a DUI.
  • NO smoking in the boys room: It will now be illegal to smoke on all University of California college campuses; this includes even e-cigarettes!
  • Bag it: In LA County, it will be required to bring your own reusable shopping bags to the grocery store or pay 10 cents for each plastic bag needed (this brings a whole new meaning to, "dropping a dime"). Ventura County, we feel, will follow suit in the coming years. It's best to just start this habit now.
  • Big cushions for bikes: Drivers will be required to give a 3 foot clearance, if possible, when passing a bicyclist on the road. When 3 feet is not possible, you must slow down and wait for 3 feet to become available. This will be enforced even when no accident occurs; aka more reasons for police to pull you over! Watch out for this one.
  • Minimum Wage increase: Beginning in July, the minimum wage will raise to $9 an hour in California. This is part of a progression of increases that will raise the minimum wage to $10 per hour by 2016.

For a more complete list of new laws, visit the DMV website, and the California State Bar's various articles and statutes.

If you have any questions about these new laws or if you ever need legal advice of ANY kind, please call me any time. I don't bill for friendly advice.

Have a prosperous and safe new year!

Best Wishes,

Doug Ridley